A night with Waterloo’s brightest stars

Photo courtesy Steve Brooks

The University of Waterloo athletes celebrated another varsity year during their Athletics Banquet held on Mar. 29. During the banquet, awards were given out to the top athletes of the term.

“It is always an enjoyable scene when you have 600 student-athletes together in the same room and celebrate all that they have accomplished academically and athletically. I am extremely proud of each and every student-athlete that competed for us this past season,” Director of Athletics and Recreation, Roly Webster said.

With outstanding performances from athletes, the Rookie of the Year Awards went to Eloise Ladyman of the swimming team and Tre Ford of the football team.

The Totzke Trophy for the Male Athlete of the Year  and the Marsden Trophy for the Female Athlete of the Year went to Jörg Ahne and Tegan Sauer, respectively, for their outstanding performances on the track team. Ahne competed in the long jump event, smashing his record three times in one season and winning gold and bronze medals. Sauer gave an outstanding performance this past season in the 60m dash. She also beat her own personal best this season with a time of 7.48 s at the USports meet.

The Coach of the Year Award was given to Chris Bertoia of the football team who lead his team to a 4-0 victory earlier in the season.

The Team of the Year Award went to the women’s soccer team who went 6-4-6 in their regular season and qualified for the post-season. This is the first year that the award has been presented. The team worked hard for their recognition that night as they had qualified for the post-season for the first time since 2007. The varsity athletes had a great season this year with more to come in the future.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.