Hook’d: March 17

Here&rsquo;s this week&rsquo;s list of new songs.</p>


1.     “King Kunta” – Kendrick Lamar


This week, Kendrick Lamar released his new album, To Pimp a Butterfly, one week ahead of schedule. The third track on the album, “King Kunta,” sees Lamar rapping over a funk-style beat, and it’s nothing short of incredible. It’s a scathing three minutes of Lamar destroying any rapper who has tried to take his throne since he’s been gone, with the chorus referencing Kunta Kinte, a slave who had his foot amputated to stop him from escaping.


2. “Let It Happen” – Tame Impala


It’s been a while since we’ve heard new music from Tame Impala. They’ve allegedly been tinkering around in the studio for the past year. This week, we heard the first glimpse of their third studio album. “Let it Happen” is pretty different from their past music in terms of sound; their influence of disco is pretty apparent. However, their overall attitude is still breezy and relaxed. The title says it all.


3. “Crystals” – Of Monsters and Men


On June 9, Of Monsters and Men will release their sophomore album Beneath the Skin. Yesterday, they released the first song of the album, “Crystals.” It doesn’t have catchy hooks of songs like “Little Talks,” but the song is just as powerful, with the chanting chorus, and the persistent drum line. This is the kind of song that will be a festival or arena staple.


4. “Entropy” – Bleachers & Grimes


Last year, Jack Antonoff of Fun released his debut solo album under the moniker Bleachers. The album had a song that featured Grimes, and this seems to be another one of their collaborations. “Entropy” is the sound of Grimes going full on pop, and it works super well with her airy voice. The song will be featured on the current season of HBO’s Girls


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.